4 Comments

Liebster Award #2

liebsterBex at Film Music Central has nominated me for a Liebster award. Yay!

There are a few rules:

  • Answer my nominator’s 11 questions
  • Nominate up to 11 additional bloggers
  • Ask 11 questions to my nominees

Click “Continue Reading” for my answers, nominations, and questions…

Summer’s questions (my answers in italics):

1. Star Trek or Star Wars?

Star Wars. I’m not a big fan of sci-fi. I tend to dislike stories that take place in space. However, I found the underlying Hero’s Journey, mythic elements of Star Wars appealing. That being said, the only Star Trek I’ve seen is the 2009 film with cinema’s answer to Ambien, Chris Pine. I don’t remember much about it—except that it wasn’t memorable.

starwars_poster

2. Jedi or Sith?

Sith. What kind of protectors can’t keep their padawans from being slaughtered repeatedly?

3. DC or Marvel?

No preference. Wait. DC has Tom Welling and Wentworth Miller, right? I choose them.

Smallvillewentworth-miller

4. Hollywood is making a movie about your life: who plays you on the big screen?

This is a toughie. I asked my friends what they thought, and Gwendoline Christie was the best they could come up with. I’m tall, but I’m not Gwendoline Christie tall.

I’m going to pick Drew Barrymore. She’s a little bit older than I am, and she’d probably have to stand on a book. But she can be goofy and angsty.

5. What’s that one movie you could not live without seeing?

Rear Window

It’s my favorite movie. I never get tired of it. And it brings back good memories.

6. Favorite film soundtrack?

Oh, goodness, it’s like my Sophie’s Choice. I suppose I’d have to divide this question into categories. Some of those are easy to name.

Adapted score: Evil Under the Sun–a great rendering of Cole Porter tunes.

Original score: The Empire Strikes Back–it has the classic Star Wars theme, as well as the Imperial March

Integrated musical soundtrack: Meet Me in St. Louis

Non-integrated musical soundtrack: Grace of My Heart–Moving soundalikes of my favorite era of music, 1959-1964.

Original music soundtrack from a non-musicalSuperfly

Existing music soundtrack from a non-musical: Either American Graffiti or Shag. American Graffiti features a host of canonical oldies. Shag has lesser-heard classics. The Shag soundtrack is problematic because there are a number of song replacements in the recent home video versions, but, even with the replacements, it’s got a number of great beach music tunes. The released soundtrack, however, is made up mostly of remakes not used in the movie and should be disregarded.

7. Do you think Hollywood is making too many superhero movies?

No. Many people enjoy superhero movies. There’s no reason for Hollywood to stop making movies that make money and make people happy. That being said, I’m sick to death of superhero movies. I wish Hollywood would make more interesting projects than just superhero movies and end-of-the-year prestige movies. There used to be good movies that came out every year that weren’t designed to be blockbusters or win awards. I want to see more of those.

8. What upcoming movie are you most looking forward to?

Genius. Max Perkins, the famous editor, makes an interesting prospect for a biopic. Plus, Colin Firth is one of my favorite contemporary actors.

genius

Café Society also looks interesting. Woody Allen films lately tend to be hit or miss. I hope this one will be more on the Midnight in Paris side of things.

cafe society

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I look forward to anything in the Potterverse.

fantastic beasts

9. Do you like the live-action Disney remakes or should Disney leave those movies alone?

I saw Cinderella (2015). I didn’t care for it. It won’t replace the original. However, even if Disney keeps making remakes, the originals will still exist to be enjoyed. They aren’t diminished in any way. If people enjoy the remakes and they make money, there’s no reason not to make them.

10. Who should be the next James Bond?

I would say Michael Fassbender. However, any actor who takes on Bond would have to dedicate prime real estate of his moviemaking life to playing one character, and I would rather see Fassbender do more interesting things with his career. Of course, the X-Men movies Fassbender has been making aren’t exactly making the best use of his talent, either. Still, he shouldn’t waste more time on a franchise.

Michael Fassbender

Aidan Turner might be a good choice. He certainly presents raw sex appeal and the undercurrent of danger needed. He isn’t British, however, even though he plays British characters a lot. Bond should be British.

Aidan Turner

I guess I’d have to go with Henry Cavill. He’s handsome enough. He’s British. He doesn’t seem to have so much talent that it would go to waste playing Bond for ten years. Sure, he’s involved with DC films, but his other projects aren’t worthwhile. He would be better of spending his non-Superman time doing anything else than what he’s been doing.

Henry Cavill

11. Why did you start a blog?

Someone told me it would be a good thing to have during a job search.

Nominations:

My questions: 

  1. What, if any, film adaptations do you consider to have improved on their source books? If none, what movie do you think comes closest to being as good as the book?
  2. Who are your five favorite living actors and actresses?
  3. What is your choice comfort movie (the movie you watch when you need cheering up)?
  4. What movie did you dislike on first viewing only to come to appreciate later? Conversely, what movie did you once like than upon later viewing turned out to be not so great?
  5. What movie(s) can you think of that was/were or had the potential to be good but had a fatal flaw–one thing you would change?
  6. What movie do you like that you think no one else has heard of (Yes, I asked this before, but I like this question–and I’m always looking for suggestions)? 
  7. What are your favorite TV shows of all time?
  8. What do you consider to be the most romantic movie of all-time (if you’re not into cinematic romance, The Terminator is a perfectly acceptable answer)?
  9. What movie do you enjoy even though you recognize that it’s terrible?
  10. What book or other source material would like to see adapted for film or TV that hasn’t been done yet?
  11. What do you do when you’re not watching movies or blogging about them?

 

 

 

4 comments on “Liebster Award #2

  1. Awesome! Loved the answers 🙂 I honestly hadn’t thought about Michael Fassbender as Bond, but I could sort of see it.

  2. He’s much too old now, but back in 2000 when they were discussing re booting Bond the first time, I was an advocate of Jason Isaacs to be the new Bond. (He was the villainous Tavington in “The Patriot”.) I don’t know who I’d pick now.

  3. P.S. I absolute love your questions for the next candidate.

  4. I’m a bit slow on the uptake, but I finally saw my blog listed on your nominations list, and followed through with it. If you want to see my post, here it is:

    http://midnitedrive-in.blogspot.com/2016/07/liebster-award.html

    Thanks.

    Quiggy

Leave a Reply

