14 Comments

Announcing the 2nd Disability in Film Blogathon!

A few months ago, I mentioned to someone with whom I was having a debate on Facebook that I was disabled. (I was born with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, a congenital connective tissue disorder.) He immediately dismissed everything I said because I was a “welfare recipient.” Obviously, the fellow was a dunderhead. He didn’t seem to understand that not all disabled people receive disability payments. I don’t; I’m certain Larry Flynt doesn’t. Even if we did, disability payments are not welfare. Even if they were, that wouldn’t automatically negate a disabled person’s opinion. Clearly, this fellow held a belief that disabled people are a drain on society and that they are of lesser worth than their able-bodied peers. I could dismiss the fellow’s reaction as being that of an ignorant fringe-dweller, but his attitude toward disability, while extreme, isn’t an outlier.

Although disability is common in society—about one in five Americans report having a disability—we’re more likely to encounter disability in film than in real life. I’ve seen far more deaf people, blind people, and mobility-impaired people in movies than I’ve met in real life, and I would bet that my experience isn’t uncommon. Our understanding of disability often comes more from cultural products than from real life. How these cultural products present disability is vital, then, to how real-life disabled people are viewed and treated.

The Disability in Film Blogathon covers portrayals of disability in film and television, including physical impairments, developmental disorders, traumatic brain injuries, and speech disorders. (It does not cover mental illness—that’s a whole topic to itself. Nor does it cover terminal illness—the focus of the film or television program should be on living with disability, not on mortality.) Also allowed are the stories of performers with disabilities. Other topics related to disability in film and television are allowed as well—for example, the issue of able-bodied performers playing characters with disabilities or a discussion of the fact that performances of disabled characters are often given awards.

The blogathon will run from 24 October-26 October 2018, in honor of National Disability in Employment Awareness Month. As there are plenty of topics from which to choose, no more than two entries on the same topic will be allowed.

The Rules in Brief:

1) Entries must cover some topic related to disability in film or television, excluding mental illness or terminal illness.

2) No more than two entries per topic.

3) Blogs may post up to three entries.

4) No old posts. All entries must be newly posted.

5) To express your interest in participating in the blogathon, leave a comment on my blog, along with the name and URL of your blog, and the subject you wish to cover, or you can always register by email at: robinpruter@gmail.com. For those of you who wish to register by email, please be sure to include the name and URL of your blog, and the topic you wish to cover.

6) Posts must feature one of the banners below and a link back to the blogathon post on either Pop Culture Reverie or this year’s co-host, In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood.

Entries:

Pop Culture Reverie: The Sessions, The Lookout

In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood: The stars who stuttered, The Spiral Staircase (1946) and TBD

The Stop Button: My Left Foot

Cinematic ScribbingsImmortal Love

Who Am I to Stop It50 First Dates

18 Cinema Lane: Matthew Rogers from Little House on the Prairie and Bucky Barnes from Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Crítica Retrô: Lucky Star (1929)

FilmexodusWhat’s Eating Gilbert Grape

Taking Up RoomMr. Holland’s Opus

The Wonderful World of CinemaCharly

It Came From The Man CaveMonkey Shines

The Midnight Drive-In: The X-Men movies or possibly “I, Borg”

Real Weegie Midget ReviewsHyde Park on Hudson

I Found It At The MoviesThe King’s Speech

Old Hollywood Films: The life of Harold Russell

Movierob: Passion Fish, Sling Blade, Breaking the Waves

Banners:

14 comments on “Announcing the 2nd Disability in Film Blogathon!

  1. Can I do “My Left Foot” for the Stop Button?

  2. Hi, Robin! I want to write about Lucky Star (1929).
    Cheers!
    Le from Crítica Retrô
    http://www.criticaretro.blogspot.com

    • Wow! I’m shocked I’ve never heard of this film before. It seems really interesting. I have to see if I can get it through my library.

  3. Hi Robin! I would like to participate in this blogathon! Because this blogathon looks at portrayals of disability from film and TV, I would like to write an editorial about how two different characters (one from a movie franchise and one from a television show) share similarities in backstories and how they live their lives with a disability. My favorite character from Little House on the Prairie is Matthew Rogers, who is non-verbal, and my favorite superhero in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is Bucky Barnes, who is an amputee. After watching Captain America: The Winter Soldier for the first time, Bucky’s backstory and some of the situations he went through in that movie reminded me of Matthew Rogers’ backstory and the episode Matthew appeared in; The Wild Boy Parts 1 and 2. Even though Matthew and Bucky are two very different characters whose stories are told in two different time periods, they do share a number of similarities.

    • I think that’s a really interesting approach. I have you down. I’m sorry it took so long to respond. I was dealing with a family health crisis.

  4. I’d like to do “50 First Dates” for WhoAmIToStopIt.com.

    • I’m glad to have you join us. I’m thinking of writing about The Lookout myself, but I have to admit that I’m not an expert on TBI. Have you seen it?

  5. […] October 24, The 2nd Disability in Film Blogathon begins. It is being hosted by Pop Culture Reverie and In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood. […]

  6. […] Published specifically for the 2nd Disability in Film Blogathon hosted by Pop Culture Reverie & In The Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood […]

  7. I would like The Miracle Worker please.

    Movies Meet Their Match
    https://moviesmeetmatch.blogspot.com/

  8. […] so happy to participate in this year’s Disability in Film Blogathon. The blogathon in a nutshell: A bunch of us who love to talk and write about disability […]

Leave a comment